New Zealand squad for T20 World Cup announced
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:BJ Diamanti, JDP Oram
Event:ICC World Twenty20 2009

DateLine: 7th April 2009


Brendon Diamanti was included when New Zealand selectors picked their 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 but there was no room for Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee or Chris Martin. Rather than taking the easier option of choosing a 30-man preliminary group like most teams, New Zealand have confirmed their final playing outfit. It includes fringe allrounders Nathan McCullum and Ian Butler, along with the backup wicketkeeper Peter McGlashan as the selectors looked favourably on lower-order power-hitters. Jacob Oram was chosen subject to fitness as he continues to fight his way back from an injury-interrupted season. Oram's inclusion meant there was no room for the allrounder Grant Elliott, despite having a strong ODI summer. The selectors preferred Diamanti, whose only international experience came in a rain-shortened ODI against Australia. Diamanti had a productive State Shield season, averaging 47.60 with the bat at a strike-rate of 102.


The team will travel to England in mid-May and will hold a training camp before the competition starts with warm-up matches beginning on June 1. In addition to the final squad, the selectors named a backup group of 15 players from whom replacements will be picked if necessary.


New Zealand squad : Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Neil Broom, Jacob Oram, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori (capt), Ian Butler, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Brendon Diamanti, Iain O'Brien.