Zimbabwe crash to 67 all out; Lanka win by nine wickets
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Scorecard:Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka
Player:BAW Mendis, MF Maharoof, KC Sangakkara, WU Tharanga, T Mupariwa, S Matsikenyeri
Event:Sri Lanka in Zimbabwe 2008/09

DateLine: 23rd November 2008


Sri Lanka brushed aside the Zimbabwean challenge with consummate ease and won their second ODI by nine wickets and more than 32 overs to spare. Winning the toss and batting first at the Harare Sports Club, the hosts were skittled out for a paltry 67 all out, that was overhauled by the Sri Lankans in the 18th over for the loss of Mahela Udawatte’s wicket.


Ajantha Mendis got another four wickets to his tally – he now has forty at an average of less than 10 – but it was F. Maharoof who broke the back of the Zimbabwean top-order with three wickets. None of the remaining batsmen could get going after this early setback, as Mendis bowled his bagful of tricks scythed through the rest of them. Tatenda Taibu top-scored with 12, and there were only two other batsmen – S. Matsikenyeri and Sean Williams – who got to double figures. The Zimbabwean end came after 31 overs, when Williams tried to loft Mendis out of the park but only managed to scoop it up for Maharoof to catch.


Sri Lanka came on to bat before the luncheon break, but lost Udawatte early off Mupariwa for 7. Upul Tharanga and Kumara Sangakkara then saw the visitors through without the loss of another wicket; the former scoring an unbeaten 26, while the stumper contributing 28.


Sri Lanka now lead the series 2-0 and the third match would be played on the 24th of November.