Pakistan team looks like one on a clear mission
by Asher Wilson

Scorecard:Bangladesh v Pakistan
Event:ICC World Twenty20 2012/13

DateLine: 25th September 2012


Pakistan vs Bangladesh
T20 World Cup 2012
Match 12


The group stage of the ICC World T20 will draw to a close on Tuesday, 25th of September with the 2009 winners, Pakistan playing their Asian counterparts, Bangladesh in the last game of the draw, leading up to the Super Eights. Pakistan will be riding high on confidence after winning a tightly contested game on Sunday against the Kiwis and will be looking to keep their impressive display going, while Bangladesh have plenty to prove in this fixture if they wish to keep alive their reputation as giant killers and as a growing cricketing force. The match will take place at the picturesque Pallekele International stadium in Kandy.


Pakistan and Bangladesh have clashed five times since the inception of the format and the former has always emerged victorious in the slam-bang battles. Pakistan, are among the favorites to clinch a second title and led inspiringly by opener Mohammad Hafeez, the team looked every bit a genuine contender in its 14-run triumph over New Zealand. Bangladesh, on the other hand, were blown away by the Kiwis in their lung-opener and it may be tough for them to regroup easily against another tough opponent. Their management will need to move quickly to help them pull up their socks quickly if they wish to stay in the competition. Apart from providing a lot of excitement for the audience, this match is important for both the teams.


The Bangladesh batsmen were quite ordinary in their chase and the senior members of the side will need to take up more responsibility this time around. The likes of Tamim Iqbal, Shakib al Hasan and Mohammed Ashraful are the impact players with the bat and they will need to do the bulk of the scoring. Nasir Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah Riyadh will provide good support batting options in the lower order along with the all-round option of either Zia Ul Haq or Farhad Reza batting at No.7.


The bowling unit was peppered by McCullum in the first game but the form of their once ace pacer Mashrafe Mortaza was a saving grace on the night. He is likely to be supported by the left arm spinner Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam and Elias Sunny to fill in the bowling resources.


The Pakistan team looks like one on a clear mission in this tournament with all the departments of their game looking in good shape. The normally unreliable batting unit looks very solid with the amazing form of their top order batsmen, Mohammed Hafeez, Kamran Akmal and Nasir Jamshed, who have all been amongst the runs. Imran Nazir is more of a smash, bang and wallop at the top but will provide Pakistan with a fast start if he gets going. Shoaib Malik is their most reliable batsman in the middle order given his experience and calm although his performance against Kiwis remains a worry as he was sent ahead of the aggressive Shahid Afridi which didn`t work as Pakistan`s scoring rate suffered and it would be interesting to see how the line-up shapes up today. While the likes of Umar Akmal round off a powerful batting unit and while 'boom, boom' Shahid Afridi may not be in his best form, he is going to be very dangerous whenever the eluding form gets back. Abdur Razzaq may just get a look in for Yasir Arafat at No.8 before the super eights while the reliable trio of Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul and Sohail Tanvir might again take up bowling duties again after their decent showing as a unit the other night against Kiwis.


Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim*†, Mahmudullah, Abdur Razzak, Abul Hasan, Elias Sunny, Farhad Reza, Jahurul Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Ashraful, Nasir Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Ziaur Rahman.


Pakistan squad: Mohammad Hafeez*, Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal†, Mohammad Sami, Nasir Jamshed, Raza Hasan, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2012 Pakistan Cricket Website)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive