South Africa name Champions Trophy squad
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:M Morkel, RJ Peterson, LL Tsotsobe
Event:ICC Champions Trophy 2009/10

DateLine: 20th August 2009


The South African selectors have left out fast bowler Morne Morkel but included left-arm spinner Robin Peterson as they announced the 15-man squad for next month's ICC Champions Trophy to be played in South Africa.


The left-arm fast bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe returned to the national team after undergoing a cartilage operation on his right knee in March. Tsotsobe had taken four for 50 in his only one-day international against Australia in Perth in January.


Tsotsobe, 25, joined Wayne Parnell, 20, as one of two promising left-arm pace bowlers in the squad. Parnell was one of the outstanding performers in the World Twenty20 in England in June.


"There were some difficult choices to make," said selection convener Mike Procter.


"At the moment South African cricket is blessed with an abundance of fast bowling talent with the emergence of Tsotsobe and Parnell as outstanding new prospects and Charl Langeveldt becoming available again.


"Langeveldt is not fit enough yet to be considered after his shoulder surgery and Morne Morkel is the unlucky one to miss out. He is very much part of our long-term planning and has a major role to play but we would like to see more consistency from him at this stage," said Procter.


The Champions Trophy will be played at two venues, Centurion and Johannesburg, from September 22 to October 5.


Squad : Graeme Smith (capt), Johan Botha (vice-capt), Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe.