West Indies assemble alternate squad
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:DM Richards, TL Best, FL Reifer
Event:Bangladesh in West Indies 2009

DateLine: 9th July 2009


The West Indies Cricket Board scrambled to get a team together for the first Test against Bangladesh after the selected players decided to boycott the match due to contract disputes.


The squad is captained by Floyd Reifer who played for West Indies 10 years ago. None of the original 13 players selected for the match, prior to the West Indies Players Association announcing their withdrawal from the Bangladesh series, have been named. Tino Best, the pace bowler, who last featured in a Test match in 2005, was in the squad along with opening batsman Dale Richards who has narrowly missed out on Test appearances.


The West Indies Players' Association (WIPA) announced on Tuesday the Test squad, captained by Chris Gayle, had withdrawn from the series with immediate effect. The WIPA said they were owed payments for recent games and that the players have performed in the last four series without contracts.


West Indies squad :


Floyd Reifer (captain), Darren Sammy, Ryan Austin, Tino Best, David Bernard, Kraigg Brathwaite, Andre Creary, Travis Dowlin, Nikita Miller, Kevin McClean, Nelon Pascal, Omar Phillips, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Chadwick Walton.