Sri Lanka name squad for Pakistan series
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:AD Mathews, RAS Lakmal, JK Silva
Event:Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2009

DateLine: 30th June 2009


Sri Lanka have named three uncapped players in their 15-man squad for the first Test against Pakistan from July 4. All-rounder Angelo Mathews, fast bowler Suranga Lakmal and wicket-keeper Kaushal Silva have all been included for the opening game in Galle. Silva's selection follows a finger injury sustained by regular wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene in a practice match last week.


Sri Lanka also have the option of using skipper Kumar Sangakkara and Tillakaratne Dilshan as wicket-keeper, a move that would make room in the team for Mathews to make his debut. Mathews would add depth to the batting and also give Sri Lanka a third seamer in an attack that will include spinners Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis.


There was no room in the squad for veteran left-armer Chaminda Vaas, 35, also left out of Sri Lanka's squad for the ICC World Twenty20. Fast bowler Dilhara Fernando has also lost his place in the test team to Dhammika Prasad, who has regained full fitness after missing the earlier series with Pakistan in March.


Squad : Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Malinda Warnapura, Tharanga Paranavitana, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dhammika Prasad, Kaushal Silva, Suranga Lakmal.