Bangladesh Cricket Board President's XI v England XI
England in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka 2003/04
VenueBangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka on 12th, 13th, 14th October 2003 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
Players12 per side (11 to bat and field)
TossBangladesh Cricket Board President's XI won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresNadir Shah, Ziaul Islam
TV umpireSB Chowdhury
ScorersAfsar Hossain, Mizanur Rahman
Close of play day 1England XI (1) 106/1 (Trescothick 49*, Butcher 11*; 37 overs)
Close of play day 2Bangladesh Cricket Board President's XI (1) 46/6 (Mushfiqur Rahman 6*, Nadif Chowdhury 5*; 24 overs)
Man of the MatchME Trescothick

England XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
ME Trescothickc Aftab Ahmed b Enamul Haque9017527674 
*MP Vaughanc Anwar Hossain Piju b Anwar Hossain Monir36751086- 
MA Butcherc Moniruzzaman b Gazi Alamgir218584-- 
N Hussainlbw b Gazi Alamgir1752921- 
GP Thorpec Anwar Hossain Piju b Enamul Haque043-- 
R Clarkec Aftab Ahmed b Enamul Haque0510-- 
+CMW Readlbw b Anwar Hossain Monir4310512412 
GJ Battyb Nadif Chowdhury1763881- 
AF Gilesnot out93744-- 
SJ Harmisonlbw b Anwar Hossain Monir022-- 
MJ Hoggardlbw b Enamul Haque079-- 
MJ Saggersdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 9 nb, 7 w)20
Total(all out, 432 minutes, 100.1 overs)253
Fall of wickets:
1-77 (Vaughan, 23.1 ov), 2-127 (Butcher, 44.6 ov), 3-181 (Trescothick, 62.1 ov), 4-181 (Thorpe, 62.5 ov), 5-181 (Hussain, 63.3 ov), 6-181 (Clarke, 64.4 ov), 7-236 (Batty, 88.1 ov), 8-252 (Read, 97.3 ov), 9-252 (Harmison, 97.5 ov), 10-253 (Hoggard, 100.1 ov)
Bangladesh Cricket Board President's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Anwar Hossain Monir23   658364
Gazi Alamgir16   63721-
Mushfiqur Rahman20   7350-5
Enamul Haque27.18594--
Abul Bashar3   0100--
Nadif Chowdhury9   2451--
Ashiqur Rahman2   050--

Bangladesh Cricket Board President's XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*Hannan Sarkarc Butcher b Hoggard723221- 
Nafees Iqbalc Thorpe b Hoggard0718-- 
Aftab Ahmedlbw b Saggers102236-- 
Ashiqur Rahmanc Trescothick b Hoggard0917-- 
Mushfiqur Rahmanlbw b Hoggard85786-- 
Abul Basharb Saggers011-- 
+Anwar Hossain Pijuc Thorpe b Harmison62032-- 
Nadif Chowdhuryc Trescothick b Hoggard52127-- 
Anwar Hossain Monirc Vaughan b Harmison21120-- 
Gazi Alamgirnot out21220-- 
Enamul Haqueb Hoggard368-- 
Moniruzzamandid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 6 nb)14
Total(all out, 146 minutes, 30.3 overs)57
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Nafees Iqbal, 4.1 ov), 2-14 (Hannan Sarkar, 4.5 ov), 3-19 (Ashiqur Rahman, 8.2 ov), 4-29 (Aftab Ahmed, 11.3 ov), 5-29 (Abul Bashar, 13.1 ov), 6-37 (Anwar Hossain Piju, 18.5 ov), 7-48 (Nadif Chowdhury, 24.5 ov), 8-51 (Mushfiqur Rahman, 26.3 ov), 9-51 (Anwar Hossain Monir, 29.1 ov), 10-57 (Enamul Haque, 30.3 ov)
England XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Harmison11   4212-3
Saggers6   262--
Clarke3   050--
Giles1   040--

England XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GP Thorpenot out4742688- 
R Clarkeb Enamul Haque1945683- 
*MP Vaughandid not bat      
ME Trescothickdid not bat      
MA Butcherdid not bat      
N Hussaindid not bat      
+CMW Readdid not bat      
AF Gilesdid not bat      
GJ Battydid not bat      
MJ Hoggarddid not bat      
SJ Harmisondid not bat      
MJ Saggersdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 w)3
Total(1 wicket, declared, 68 minutes, 14.3 overs)69
Fall of wickets:
1-69 (Clarke, 14.3 ov)
Bangladesh Cricket Board President's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Anwar Hossain Monir4   02802-
Gazi Alamgir4   0160--
Mushfiqur Rahman5   3210--
Enamul Haque1.3031--

Bangladesh Cricket Board President's XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*Hannan Sarkarlbw b Giles16104145-- 
Nafees Iqbalc Read b Saggers2028432- 
Aftab Ahmedlbw b Clarke45698941 
Ashiqur Rahmanc Read b Batty22931-- 
Mushfiqur Rahmanlbw b Batty1122281- 
Abul Basharc Clarke b Giles62224-- 
+Anwar Hossain Pijuc Thorpe b Batty425361- 
Nadif Chowdhuryb Harmison26655931 
Anwar Hossain Monirlbw b Giles2810-- 
Gazi Alamgirnot out02330-- 
Enamul Haquenot out022-- 
Moniruzzamandid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 2 nb, 6 w)11
Total(9 wickets, 66 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Nafees Iqbal, 8.5 ov), 2-87 (Aftab Ahmed, 32.1 ov), 3-87 (Hannan Sarkar, 38.1 ov), 4-97 (Ashiqur Rahman, 40.4 ov), 5-102 (Mushfiqur Rahman, 44.6 ov), 6-106 (Abul Bashar, 47.3 ov), 7-116 (Anwar Hossain Piju, 54.1 ov), 8-123 (Anwar Hossain Monir, 57.4 ov), 9-143 (Nadif Chowdhury, 65.4 ov)
England XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hoggard5   270--
Harmison10   32016-
Saggers6   1181--
Giles22   7473--
Clarke8   3261-1
Batty15   8223--

--> ME Trescothick (1) 50 in 103 balls, 161 minutes

As per a decision taken late on Sunday, the 12th man of each team will bowl and field, but will not bat. Aftab Ahmed and Martin Saggers have been included in the Bangladesh and England sides.
Aftab Ahmed was later allowed to bat as Moniruzzaman withdrew because of illness.
Play started at 2.30pm local time





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive